In the 1800s Augusta Zadow fought for the work health and safety rights of women and young workers that today we take for granted. Find out more about the pioneering work of Augusta Zadow.

In recognition of her work, SafeWork SA established the Augusta Zadow Awards to support initiatives, research or further education that improves health and safety for women and young workers in South Australia.

Successful applicants will share in $25,000 to assist with their initiative.

Application process

Applications for the 2020 awards have now closed.

Assessment process

A panel will review your submission with short-listed candidates invited to present to the panel.

Grant recipients

Grant recipients will be announced in October 2020.

Recipients will be required to:

  • sign a contract
  • provide a progress report
  • provide a final report on the outcomes of the project
  • make a commitment to promote the outcomes of the project.

Final project reports are due 30 October 2021.

Contact us

For further information or questions about submitting an application, please email us or call us on 8204 9430.


Cassandra Deon-Wierda

Project: Responding to client disclosures: Training for hairdressers in recognising and responding to domestic and family violence.

Award: $10,000

Georgia Thain

Project: Work Health and Safety in the sex industry of South Australia: Beyond criminalisation.

Award: $10,000


Alex Thomas

Project: The #PlantASeedForSafety social media awareness campaign with 100 case studies of rural women who have improved safety to engage and inspire others.

Award: $20,000

Sara Howard

Project: To work with VET students to understand the implications of cobots in the workplace, and how this impacts safety for their career going forward.

Award: $15,000

Jaspreet Kaur and Anne Purdy

Project: To develop and translate multilingual fact sheets to support women to better understand the worker’s compensation scheme and navigate the psychological work injury claims process.

Award: $10,000


Michelle Tuckey

Project: Prevention of workplace bullying through risk assessment: final project report.

Award: $10,000

Andie Xu

Project: Understanding the impact of sunlight exposure on hot flush symptoms.

Award: $10,000


Karen Baines

Project: Safety groups for farm women. A farm safety implementation program pilot model for the future delivery of farm safety improvements.

Award: $10,000

Professor Susan Gordon

Project: Preventing and managing aggression in aged care.

Award: $10,000


Dr Olivia Lockwood and Andy Roberts

Project: Developing strategies to reduce workplace injuries for sonographers.

Award: $10,000

Ms Anne Purdy and Ms Janet Giles

Project: Work health and safety risks associated with social and community services workers who are required to sleepover at their workplaces as part of their job.

Award: $10,000


Gemma Beale

Project: The safety of female casual and seasonal workers during South Australia's 'Mad March'.

Award: $10,000

Renae Fernandez

Project: Identifying occupations performed by women that contribute to an increased risk of impaired fertility.

Award: $10,000


Dr Claire Jones

Project: Biomechanic Evaluation of Spine and Knee Loads in Women performing a novel 'arm-to-thigh' technique for one-handed reaching and lifting tasks.

Award: $10,000

Dr Joy Penman

Project: Mental, psychosocial and emotional-safe environments for female immigrant nurses in rural and regional aged care services : an educational resource manual for new recruits.

Award: $10,000


Dr Moira Jenkins

Project: Developing a group program to help workers who have sustained psychological injury as a result of workplace bullying or harassment, and as a consequence are no longer working, to return to safe work.

Award: $16,900


Kathryn McEwen

Project: Building resilience at an individual and collective level for staff.

Award: $10,000

Sharyn Gaskin

Project: The influence of cosmetics on the skin absorption of chemicals amongst female workers.

Award: $9,150


Nadine Levy and Anne Purdy

Project: Experiences of sexual harassment amongst young women workers: an exploration of power and opportunity.

Award: $10,000

Valerie O'Keeffe

Project: Nurses health and safety decision-making and the role of safety information.

Award: $5,000

Jessica Smith

Project: Raising awareness in the workplace of the potential impact of hazardous substances on fertility and pregnancy.

Award: $5,000


Vicki Hutchinson and Belinda Purvis

Project: Management of aggression/violence in a clinical environment.

Award: $8,000

Kathy Grieve

Project: Menopause & work project: final report

Award: $6,760


Georgina Upton and Bronwyn Knight

Project: Risk management techniques for digital mammography.

Award: $10,000

Susan Mitchell

Project: Minimisation of musculoskeletal sprains and strains in the Early Special Education field.

Award: $7,350


Dr Elspeth McInnes and Christy Ward

Project: Supporting the occupational health and safety needs of Family Day Care providers in South Australia.

Award: $12,000


Sharon Henderson, Alex Neill, John Packer and Craig Brown

Project: The three firms combined to produce a prototype motorised 'comfort chair mover' for residents of aged care homes, as well as motorised trolleys for high use and heavy duties.

The Scholarship will go towards funding a multi-language DVD-based training tool, and research to identify other industries where manual handling tasks may affect the well-being of women and to demonstrate the product to them.

Award: $10,000


Alana Hale

Project: This scholarship was awarded to Alana Hale to undertake a study trip to London to participate in the Health and Safety Representative training for occupational stress and to work with the trainers in the Trade Union Congress (TUC).

The focus of this work was to identify what had worked well in minimising the risks of stress - particularly in women.

Award: $10,000

Karen Grogan

Project: The project examined ways of reducing bullying in the Public Sector, a major employer of women and also examined how women's leadership styles were being challenged in traditional patriarchal working environments.

Award: $10,000

Portrait of Augusta Zadow

Augusta Zadow
27 August 1846 - 7 July 1896

Augusta Zadow was an advocate for women's rights in the workplace and became South Australia's 'First Lady Inspector of Factories' in 1895. She was a woman ahead of her time, with many of the working conditions women enjoy today attributable to her advocacy.

She became an advocate for women working in clothing factories and was a major contributor to the establishment of the Working Women's Trades Union in 1890 and was a delegate to the United Trades and Labour Council of South Australia.

An outspoken supporter of women's suffrage, following the franchise of women in South Australia in 1894 she was appointed as a factory inspector to monitor working conditions for women and children.

Augusta is buried in the West Terrace Cemetery. Her gravestone was built with 1,000 threepenny subscriptions from factory workers.

In recognition of her work, SafeWork SA's Augusta Zadow Awards can help you meet the costs of a work health and safety initiative that benefits working women, research or further education.

Find out more: