Skip to content


Holidays Act

In South Australia, public holidays in the state are prescribed by the Holidays Act 1910 (the Act). The Act fixes certain days as public and bank holidays.

On 2 April 2012, the Statutes Amendment (Shop Trading and Holidays) Act 2012 was proclaimed, which amended the Shop Trading Hours Act 1977 and the Holidays Act 1910.

Changes to the Holidays Act 1910 created 2 part-day public holidays, one on Christmas Eve and one on New Year's Eve from 7.00 pm to 12 midnight.


Holidays Act 1910
SA Legislation website