Skip to content

Extended trading hours for Christmas 2015

This year, the state government has again approved extra trading hours in the lead-up to Christmas and for the post-Christmas sales period.

Non-exempt shops in the city and metropolitan areas can open from 9am on Sunday, 29 November, 6 December, 13 December, 20 December and 27 December 2015 and stay open until 12-midnight on Thursday 17 December, Friday 18 December and Wednesday 23 December 2015.

Non-exempt shops in the metropolitan area will also be permitted to trade from 11am to 5pm on the Proclamation Day public holiday Monday, 28 December 2015: the same for non-exempt shops in the city.

Non-exempt shops in the city can also trade from 11am to 5pm on Saturday, 26 December 2015 and New Year's Day Friday, 1 January 2016, however these days remain non-trading days for the wider metropolitan area.

The table below provides a guide to trading hours for non-exempt shops in the city and wider metropolitan area during the 2015 Christmas/New Year public holiday period.

DAY CITY METRO
Friday, 25 December CLOSED CLOSED
Saturday, 26 December 11am to 5pm CLOSED
Sunday, 27 December 9am to 5pm 9am to 5pm
Monday, 28 December 11am to 5pm 11am to 5pm
Tuesday, 29 December until 9pm until 9pm
Wednesday, 30 December until 9pm until 9pm
Thursday, 31 December until 9pm until 9pm
Friday, 1 January 11am to 5pm CLOSED

Shops selling hardware and building materials, furniture, floor coverings or motor vehicle parts and accessories can trade their usual weekday, weekend and public holiday hours, but must be closed on Christmas Day.

Read more in the exemption notice and media release from the links below.