Skip to content

LinkedIn
YouTube
RSS

Extended trading hours for Christmas 2016

This year, the state government has again approved extra trading hours in the lead-up to Christmas and for the post-Christmas sales period.

Non-exempt shops in the city and metropolitan area can open:

  • from 9am on Sunday 27 November, Sunday 4 December, Sunday 11 December
    and Sunday 18 December 2016
  • until 12-midnight on Thursday 15 December, Thursday 22 December and
    Friday 23 December 2016.
  • from 9am on Tuesday 27 December 2016 (Proclamation Day public holiday)
    - until 5pm in metropolitan area
  • from 9am on Monday 2 January 2017 (New Year's Day public holiday)
    - until 5pm in metropolitan area.

Although they are non-trading days for the wider metropolitan area, non-exempt shops in the city can trade from 11am to 5pm on:

  • Monday 26 December 2016
  • Sunday 1 January 2017 (New Year's Day).

Shops selling hardware and building materials, furniture, floor coverings or motor vehicle parts and accessories can trade their usual weekday, weekend and public holiday hours, but must be closed on Christmas Day. 

The table below provides a guide to trading hours for non-exempt shops in the city and wider metropolitan area during the 2016 Christmas/New Year public holiday period.

DAY CITY METRO
Saturday, 24 December until 5pm until 5pm
Sunday, 25 December CLOSED CLOSED
Monday, 26 December 11am to 5pm CLOSED
Tuesday, 27 December 9am to 5pm 9am to 5pm
Wednesday, 28 December until 9pm until 9pm
Thursday, 29 December until 9pm until 9pm
Friday, 30 December until 9pm until 9pm
Saturday, 31 December until 5pm until 5pm
Sunday, 1 January 11am to 5pm CLOSED
Monday, 2 January 9am to 5pm 9am to 5pm
 

Related Information

Public Holidays